Tag Archives: Cookbooks

Books of the Week #35

Beginner Belgium Cookbook: Deliciously Easy Belgium Recipes for the Whole Family by Stephanie Sharp

Food in Belgium is influenced by Dutch and French cooking and is highly respected,
Belgium has a variety of local specialties. Fresh produce such as games, endives and asparagus play a big role in Belgian cooking. Belgium borders the sea so Seafood plays a huge part also. Grey and brown prawns and mussels are very popular. High quality chocolate and a vast range of beers are also a specialty in Belgium.

French fries are also famous in Belgium. Actually, they are Belgian fries that originated there. The fries are served with a range of sauces.

Waffles, wow! We cannot forget waffles, made in a wide range of styles, served with exotic toppings.

https://books2read.com/u/m2VYr1

Nadia: The Girl Who Couldn’t Sit Still by Karlin Gray (Author), Christine Davenier (Illustrator)

Nadia Comaneci was a feisty and fearless little girl who went from climbing trees in the forests of Romania to swinging into history at the 1976 Olympic Games, where she received an unprecedented seven perfect scores in gymnastics. But as readers will see in this first-ever illustrated picture book about Nadia’s journey to Olympic gold, the road from small-town girl to world-class athlete was full of many imperfect moments.

Expert illustrations that capture the energy and fluidity of Nadia’s exuberant gymnastic routines and referential back matter round out this inspirational story of determination and overcoming adversity. A perfect 10.

https://books2read.com/u/4j2PNZ

The Greenest Branch: A Novel of Germany’s First Female Physician (Hildegard of Bingen Book 1) by P.K. Adams

The Greenest Branch is the first in a two-book series based on the true story of Hildegard of Bingen, Germany’s first female physician and one of the few women to attain that position in medieval Europe. Set against the backdrop of the lush oak forests and sparkling rivers of the Rhineland, it is a tale of courage, strength, sacrifice, and love that will appeal to fans of Ken Follett, Umberto Eco, Elizabeth Chadwick, Margaret Frazer, Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden – and to anyone who enjoys strong female protagonists in historical fiction.

https://books2read.com/u/38Zy6r

The Crumpled Letter (Belle Epoque Mystery Book 1) by Alice Quinn

On the French Riviera during the belle époque, a murder draws two women into the dangerous shadows of Europe’s privileged elite…

One winter evening in 1884, beautiful young courtesan Lola Deslys discovers the lifeless body of a chambermaid hidden in the gardens of the Hôtel Beau Rivage in Cannes. Even more distressing is that Lola knows the girl well. When the inquiry into her murder fails to reveal a single substantial clue, Lola is persuaded by novelist Guy de Maupassant to delve into the case on her own.

Eager to exert her independence and defy conventions, Lola agrees. But she needs help in her investigation, and there’s no better partner in her pursuit—however unlikely—than Miss Gabriella Fletcher, a highborn, well-educated, and currently disgraced English governess.

To solve this dreadful crime, Lola and Miss Fletcher must navigate the depths of respectable society. But will their determination suffice in a city where fortune, secrets, men, and appearances reign supreme?

https://books2read.com/u/bP9yA7

Zmeykovo (Volume 1) (Bulgarian Edition) by Ronesa Aveela

Vsichko zavinagi se promenya za dvanadesetgodishniya Teo v denya, kogato ogun i led se izsipvat ot nebeto. Toi razbira, che drakonite deistvitelno sushtestvuvat, kogato triglavoto chudovishte Lamya otvlicha sestra mu. Veshtitsa i govoreshto svrache mu pomagat da otvori portala kum Zmeikovo – zemya, za koyato e chuval samo ot mitove, myasto, koeto e dom na strakhoviti sushtestva. Kogato se ozovava tam, toi se sreshta s mistichna gorska nimfa. Teo tryabva da se nauchi da se doveryava na instinktite si i na novite si chudati priyateli, dokato tursi Lamyata, predi tya da e pozhertvala sestra mu. Po vreme na svoeto puteshestvie momcheto otkriva sledi, koito sochat, che edinstveno toi mozhe da spasi tainstvenata zemya, narechena Zmeikovo.

https://www.amazon.com/Zmeykovo-1-Bulgarian-Ronesa-Aveela/dp/0999686194

Please note: Europe by Book does not endorse the advertisements on this page. WordPress places these advertisements at random and we apologise if they disrupt your reading enjoyment. We complained to WordPress about the haphazard manner in which they place their advertisements, but like all big companies they refused to listen.

Books of the Week #23

Vegetarian Cookbook: Delicious Meatless Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Recipes from Bulgaria: Family-Friendly Vegetarian Meals by Vesela Tabakova

Everyday Vegetarian Recipes the Whole Family Will Love!
For anyone following a vegetarian diet – flexitarians who adopt plans like Meatless Mondays – as well as committed vegetarians and fans of Clean Eating here is a delicious collection of easy, meat-free mains for everyday.
Inspiring and practical Vegetarian Cookbook: Delicious Meatless Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Recipes from Bulgaria features some of the most delicious and easy vegetarian recipes on the planet! They can be served on their own or as side dishes with some meat.
If you’re looking for quick, healthy and nutritious meat-free meal ideas for you and your family, this book is for you!
E5B3C49C-8634-4C59-ADE3-9C9321ADE2E2

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Late one night, exploring her father’s library, a young woman finds an ancient book and a cache of yellowing letters addressed ominously to ‘My dear and unfortunate successor’. Her discovery plunges her into a world she never dreamed of – a labyrinth where the secrets of her father’s past and her mother’s mysterious fate connect to an evil hidden in the depths of history.
In those few quiet moments, she unwittingly assumes a quest she will discover is her birthright – a hunt for the truth about Vlad the Impaler, the medieval ruler whose barbarous reign formed the basis of the Dracula myth. Deciphering obscure signs and hidden texts, reading codes worked into the fabric of medieval monastic traditions, and evading terrifying adversaries, one woman comes ever closer to the secret of her own past and a confrontation with the very definition of evil.
Elizabeth Kostova’s debut novel is an adventure of monumental proportions – a captivating tale that blends fact and fantasy, history and the present with an assurance that is almost unbearably suspenseful – and utterly unforgettable.
2D7F3F52-52AF-499D-B199-4B5EE834456C

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

A.J. Fikry, the grumpy owner of Island Books, is going through a hard time: his bookshop is failing, he has lost his beloved wife, and his prized possession-a rare first edition book has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, instead of offering solace, are yet another reminder of a world that is changing too rapidly.
But one day A.J. finds two-year-old Maya sitting on the bookshop floor, with a note attached to her asking the owner to look after her. His life – and Maya’s – is changed forever.
Gabrielle Zevin’s enchanting novel is a love letter to the world of books–an irresistible affirmation of why we read, and why we love.
E36F6360-B3A2-44E0-9CDB-32E23F29C334

Notre-Dame: A Short History of the Meaning of Cathedrals by Ken Follett

‘Two days after Notre Dame burned, I flew to Paris to appear on the TV programme La Grande Librairie for a discussion about cathedrals. The following morning I had breakfast at the Hotel Bristol with my French publisher and she asked me to write a short book about Notre Dame and what it means to all of us. She said she would donate the publisher’s profits to the rebuilding fund and, if I wished, I could do the same with my royalties. Yes, I said; of course, I’d love to.’
Ken Follett
In aid of the crucial restoration work to restore Paris’s great cathedral, Notre-Dame: A Short History of the Meaning of Cathedrals is a moving, short piece of non-fiction celebrating the stunning history of this beloved building, from Ken Follett, author of the multi-million copy selling Kingsbridge series.
This edition contains an exclusive extract from The Evening and the Morning, a prequel to The Pillars of the Earth, publishing Autumn 2020.
A minimum of 50p per copy on each sale of this book will go to the charity La Fondation du Patrimoine.
BE91B8AD-D736-46BA-ABE9-1C9AD9038049

A Study of Rusalki – Slavic Mermaids of Eastern Europe (Spirits and Creatures Series Book 2) by Ronesa Aveela

Seductive. Beautiful. Dangerous!
 
Or are they innocent and looking for love? Discover the allure of Slavic mermaids – Rusalki.
 
If Henry Wadsworth Longfellow had grown up in Eastern Europe, his soul would have longed for the secrets of the rivers, lakes, and marshes, rather than the sea. And the pale, beautiful maidens residing there would have been the ones who sent “a thrilling pulse” through him, instead of the heart of the great ocean.
 
And who are these lovely maidens? … Rusalki, a Slavic version of mermaids.
 
If only the modern-day Ariel from “The Little Mermaid” had been born one of them. She would already have had legs, and not a fish tail, and wouldn’t have had to give up her voice! Well, maybe.
 
It’s more than legs that makes the Rusalki different from what you know about mermaids.
 
· Discover their origins.
 
· Learn how to protect yourself from their enchantments.
 
· Read about terrifying encounters.
 
Through folklore, literature, music, videos, and illustrations, you’ll uncover the secrets of these spirits who have haunted Eastern Europe for centuries.
 
The “Spirits and Creatures” series has been called “brilliant,” “fascinating,” “well researched,” “humorous,” “intriguing,” “engaging,” “lyrically written,” “beautifully organized,” and “informative.” It’s the perfect book for those who want to learn about Eastern European folklore, but don’t want to read a dry, academic book.
 
C5A285BB-5DFE-4EF6-8780-CB03F7BECCD4