Tag Archives: 1800s

Books of the Week #35

Beginner Belgium Cookbook: Deliciously Easy Belgium Recipes for the Whole Family by Stephanie Sharp

Food in Belgium is influenced by Dutch and French cooking and is highly respected,
Belgium has a variety of local specialties. Fresh produce such as games, endives and asparagus play a big role in Belgian cooking. Belgium borders the sea so Seafood plays a huge part also. Grey and brown prawns and mussels are very popular. High quality chocolate and a vast range of beers are also a specialty in Belgium.

French fries are also famous in Belgium. Actually, they are Belgian fries that originated there. The fries are served with a range of sauces.

Waffles, wow! We cannot forget waffles, made in a wide range of styles, served with exotic toppings.

https://books2read.com/u/m2VYr1

Nadia: The Girl Who Couldn’t Sit Still by Karlin Gray (Author), Christine Davenier (Illustrator)

Nadia Comaneci was a feisty and fearless little girl who went from climbing trees in the forests of Romania to swinging into history at the 1976 Olympic Games, where she received an unprecedented seven perfect scores in gymnastics. But as readers will see in this first-ever illustrated picture book about Nadia’s journey to Olympic gold, the road from small-town girl to world-class athlete was full of many imperfect moments.

Expert illustrations that capture the energy and fluidity of Nadia’s exuberant gymnastic routines and referential back matter round out this inspirational story of determination and overcoming adversity. A perfect 10.

https://books2read.com/u/4j2PNZ

The Greenest Branch: A Novel of Germany’s First Female Physician (Hildegard of Bingen Book 1) by P.K. Adams

The Greenest Branch is the first in a two-book series based on the true story of Hildegard of Bingen, Germany’s first female physician and one of the few women to attain that position in medieval Europe. Set against the backdrop of the lush oak forests and sparkling rivers of the Rhineland, it is a tale of courage, strength, sacrifice, and love that will appeal to fans of Ken Follett, Umberto Eco, Elizabeth Chadwick, Margaret Frazer, Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden – and to anyone who enjoys strong female protagonists in historical fiction.

https://books2read.com/u/38Zy6r

The Crumpled Letter (Belle Epoque Mystery Book 1) by Alice Quinn

On the French Riviera during the belle époque, a murder draws two women into the dangerous shadows of Europe’s privileged elite…

One winter evening in 1884, beautiful young courtesan Lola Deslys discovers the lifeless body of a chambermaid hidden in the gardens of the Hôtel Beau Rivage in Cannes. Even more distressing is that Lola knows the girl well. When the inquiry into her murder fails to reveal a single substantial clue, Lola is persuaded by novelist Guy de Maupassant to delve into the case on her own.

Eager to exert her independence and defy conventions, Lola agrees. But she needs help in her investigation, and there’s no better partner in her pursuit—however unlikely—than Miss Gabriella Fletcher, a highborn, well-educated, and currently disgraced English governess.

To solve this dreadful crime, Lola and Miss Fletcher must navigate the depths of respectable society. But will their determination suffice in a city where fortune, secrets, men, and appearances reign supreme?

https://books2read.com/u/bP9yA7

Zmeykovo (Volume 1) (Bulgarian Edition) by Ronesa Aveela

Vsichko zavinagi se promenya za dvanadesetgodishniya Teo v denya, kogato ogun i led se izsipvat ot nebeto. Toi razbira, che drakonite deistvitelno sushtestvuvat, kogato triglavoto chudovishte Lamya otvlicha sestra mu. Veshtitsa i govoreshto svrache mu pomagat da otvori portala kum Zmeikovo – zemya, za koyato e chuval samo ot mitove, myasto, koeto e dom na strakhoviti sushtestva. Kogato se ozovava tam, toi se sreshta s mistichna gorska nimfa. Teo tryabva da se nauchi da se doveryava na instinktite si i na novite si chudati priyateli, dokato tursi Lamyata, predi tya da e pozhertvala sestra mu. Po vreme na svoeto puteshestvie momcheto otkriva sledi, koito sochat, che edinstveno toi mozhe da spasi tainstvenata zemya, narechena Zmeikovo.

https://www.amazon.com/Zmeykovo-1-Bulgarian-Ronesa-Aveela/dp/0999686194

Please note: Europe by Book does not endorse the advertisements on this page. WordPress places these advertisements at random and we apologise if they disrupt your reading enjoyment. We complained to WordPress about the haphazard manner in which they place their advertisements, but like all big companies they refused to listen.